UGA roundup: Murray, Burnette named to National Football Foundation honor society

Chris Burnette and Aaron Murray were named members of the National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society.

Eleven players from eight Southeastern Conference schools were named to the society. Ole Miss led the SEC with three nominations. Georgia was the only other school to have multiple honorees.

Members must have maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better through their college careers, and have been a starter or significant contributor during their final year of eligibility. They must have also met NCAA-mandated guidelines toward degree requirements. The society includes football players from all divisions, and had 838 players from 267 schools eligible for membership this year.


Four athletes will compete in the NCAA singles and doubles championships at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex May 21-26.

Lauren Herring earned a No. 6 national singles seed. Silvia Garcia earned a No. 9-16 singles seed. Maho Kowase and Herring earned the No. 2 doubles seed. Kate Fuller and Garcia also nabbed a bid.

Herring (28-4) is the SEC Player of the Year and the conference’s automatic qualifier. Kowase is the winningest player in Georgia women’s tennis history with 235 singles and doubles victories.

Herring and Kowase (29-6 in doubles) are the SEC automatic qualifiers for the tournament.

Herring and Garcia earned All-America singles honors. Herring and Kowase picked up All-America doubles honors.


Nathan Pasha and Austin Smith earned bids in the singles draw for the NCAA championships at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex May 21-26.

Hernus Pieters and Ben Wagland earned the No. 5-8 seed in the doubles draw and nabbed All-America doubles honors.

Georgia last won a singles title in 2002, after Matias Boeker repeated as the national singles champion. The Bulldogs’ last doubles title was won by John Isner and Antonio Ruiz in 2005.

NCAA doesn’t reduce Gurley suspension on Georgia appeal

by Marc Weiszer

Three weeks after Todd Gurley was first suspended by Georgia, there is finally closure. An NCAA reinstatement committee on Thursday night denied the school’s appeal to... Full Story

Follow marcweiszer


Georgia’s Collin Barber is among 80 candidates announced for the Ray Guy Award for nation’s top punter. Cut to 10 semifinalists on Nov. 14.

3 hours ago