Georgia lands eight on preseason All-SEC team

Six Georgia defensive players landed today on the preseason All-Southeastern Conference team as selected by the league’s football coaches.

Marc Weiszer

And that number is seven if you include Malcolm Mitchell, who made it as a receiver even though he’s ticketed to play cornerback early this season for Georgia’s depleted secondary.

Outside linebacker Jarvis Jones and safety Bacarri Rambo‚Äîboth All-Americans last year–are Georgia‚Äôs only first-team selections. No Georgia offensive player made the first team.

Aaron Murray is the second team quarterback. Arkansas’ Tyler Wilson is the first-team quarterback. Nose guard John Jenkins, named today on the watch list for the Bronko Nagurski and Outland trophies, is on the second team.

Georgia had a total of eight players in all on the three teams, which was one less than a year ago.

Alabama and LSU led with 11 selections each this time and Arkansas has 10.

Georgia’s third-team selections: Mitchell, defensive end Abry Jones, inside linebacker Alec Ogletree and cornerback Sanders Commings.

Rambo, Ogletree and Commings are all facing suspensions to start the season, but Georgia has only announced Commings’ two game-suspension after a domestic violence arrest. Rambo had a second violation of Georgia’s drug testing policy.

Jarvis Jones and Rambo were two of nine players named to the first team who were also first team All-SEC after last season.

Jones, also named today to the Nagurski watch list for nation’s top defensive player, had 70 tackles and ranked first in the SEC and tied for fifth in the NCAA in sacks. He had 13 ½ sacks last season. Rambo led the SEC and was second in the NCAA with eight interceptions.

The coaches’ All-SEC team comes out ahead of SEC Media Days held next Tuesday to Thursday in Hoover, Ala. The media All-SEC team will be released next week.

Read the full list at

NCAA doesn’t reduce Gurley suspension on Georgia appeal

by Marc Weiszer

Three weeks after Todd Gurley was first suspended by Georgia, there is finally closure. Marc Weiszer An NCAA reinstatement committee on Thursday night denied the... Full Story

Follow marcweiszer


Georgia’s Collin Barber is among 80 candidates announced for the Ray Guy Award for nation’s top punter. Cut to 10 semifinalists on Nov. 14.

1 hour ago