Weiszer mug

Blog: Georgia depth chart observations

Georgia today released its official depth chart for Saturday’s game against Boise State. It’s the first depth chart put out since before preseason practices began.

Some things that jump out to me:

–Bacarri Rambo is listed as the backup free safety behind Sanders Commings. Richt said Monday night he wouldn‚Äôt address whether Rambo is suspended for the opener, but that could change by the end of the week. Walk-on Connor Norman is listed as the No. 2 strong safety behind Shawn Williams.

–There are 10 true freshman that are listed. Isaiah Crowell is the No. 2 tailback, Amarlo Herrera is a backup inside linebacker and David Andrews the No. 2 center. Malcolm Mitchell is listed as the No. 3 split end. Watts Dantzler is listed as the No. 2 right tackle. Others listed: cornerback Damian Swann, outside linebacker Ramik Wilson, safety Corey Moore, cornerback Chris Sanders and long snapper Nathan Theus. Missing from the depth chart is outside linebacker Ray Drew.

–The starting fullback is listed as either Bruce Figgins or Zander Ogletree. Not sure if that‚Äôs based on the fact that Figgins is just returning from his hamstring injury. Another spot still undetermined is punt return where it will be either Branden Smith or Brandon Boykin.

–The third string quarterback is walk-on Parker Welch. Yes, Christian LeMay is headed for a redshirt.

–Not sure I remember seeing Richard Samuel listed as Richard Samuel IV but that he is.

–There are seven receivers listed. That includes former walk-on Taylor Bradberry.

Depth Chart


X (split end) Marlon Brown, Michael Bennett, Malcolm Mitchell, Israel Troupe

LT Cordy Glenn, Austin Long

LG Kenarious Gates, Dallas Lee

C Ben Jones, David Andrews

RG Chris Burnette, Dallas Lee

RT Justin Anderson. Watts Dantzler

TE Orson Charles, Aron White, Arthur Lynch

QB Aaron Murray, Hutson Mason, Parker Welch

FB Bruce Figgins or Zander Ogletree

TB Richard Samuel IV, Isaiah Crowell, Brandon Harton

Z (flanker) Tavarres King, Rantavious Wooten, Taylor Bradberry


DE Abry Jones, Garrison Smith

N Kwame Geathers, Jon Jenkins

DE DeAngelo Tyson, Derrick Lott

OLB Jarvis Jones, Chase Vasser, T.J. Stripling

OLB Cornelius Washington, Reuben Faloughi, Ramik Wilson

ILB Christian Robinson, Michael Gilliard

ILB Alec Ogletree, Amarlo Herrera

CB Branden Smith, Sanders Commings, Derek Owens, Chris Sanders

CB Brandon Boykin, Jordan Love, Damian Swann

SS Shawn Williams, Connor Norman, Marc Deas, Corey Moore

FS Sanders Commings, Bacarri Rambo

Special Teams

P Drew Butler, Blair Walsh

PR Branden Smith or Brandon Boykin

PK Blair Walsh, Brandon Bogotay

KR Brandon Boykin, Branden Smith

SN Ty Frix, Nathan Theus

H Drew Butler

–Please follow me at Twitter.com/marcweiszer

Follow marcweiszer


RT @TheMaxwellAward: Congrats to @FootballUGA RB Nick Chubb (@NickChubb21) for being named our #MaxwellAward Player of the Week for his per…

11 hours ago